The Louvre-Lens eco-neighbourhoods

Five Miners' Housing Estates, four of which are included on the UNESCO World Heritage List, are concerned: Cité des Provinces, Cité Jeanne d’Arc, Cité du 9, Cité du 4, and Cité du 12/14.

Three main goals: preserve the 19th century architectural, urban and landscape heritage; modernise public spaces and housing with environmental and sustainable development objectives; and promote access to culture for local residents, in connection with the Louvre-Lens and the area’s other cultural players. The main priority is to tackle the issue of unfit housing and begin the first phase of demolishing old properties.

In the longer term (10-20 years): redevoloping the neighbourhood, improving housing stock and ensuring its compliance, promoting social mixing in these areas.